Ninh Explains the Rules of Rugby Sevens
The object of the game is for your team to score more points than the opposing team.
Rugby 7’s, or just Sevens is a variation of Rugby Union that is played with two teams
of 7 players, playing on a field that’s 100 metres long between the goal lines. In Rugby Sevens, you may run forwards with
the ball and you may kick the ball forwards.
But what’s interesting about Rugby Sevens is that you can only pass the ball backwards
or sideways. You cannot pass the ball forwards and doing
so will result in your opponent being awarded possession.
The idea is to score points, and there are several ways to do this.
1) A Try. You can run with the ball into your opponent’s in-goal area and place the ball
down on the ground. This is a try and is worth 5 points.
Unlike in American Football, the player MUST press the ball on the ground with downward
pressure. No downward pressure=no try. 2) A conversion. After scoring a try, you
are awarded a conversion kick to add more points. The kick is made from a spot 20 metres
from the goal line and perpendicular to the spot where the try was scored. Unlike in Rugby
Union, you have to drop the ball into the floor first before kicking it. Kicking the
ball between the posts and over the crossbar scores 2 points
3) A penalty. If you opponents commit a foul, you may choose to kick the ball from the ground
between the goal posts. This scores 3 points.
4) A drop goal. You can also kick the ball between the posts at any time during open
play. To do this, you must drop the ball on the ground first before kicking it.
This also scores 3 points. To stop you from scoring, your opponents will
try and stop you by tackling. Your opponent can grab you below the shoulders
and pull you to the floor or stop you moving forwards. Just like in Rugby Union, once a player is
tackled, the ball carrier MUST let go of the ball.
This usually results in players pushing each other away on the ground whilst a teammate
tries to get possession of the ball. Players from either team can get possession at this
point. The game is played in two 7 minute halves.
For a combined playing time of 14 minutes. Team with the highest score after 14 minutes
wins. That’s basically the gist of it, but there’s
a few other rules you’ll need to understand before playing or going to a game. For example:
Knock on: Any player deflecting the ball forwards with
their arms or body is committing a ‘knock on’.
Remember, you’re not allowed to pass the ball forwards, so you’re not allowed to
deflect it forwards either unless it’s a kick.
Committing a knock on will result in the other team being awarded a scrum.
Scrum: This is a method of restarting play, usually
after a forward pass or knock on. The forwards of both teams line up and push
against one another whilst the ball is rolled between them.
In general, any team can win possession of the ball at this point..
In touch: This is rugby terminology for ‘out of the
playing area’. The outer lines of the field are touch lines,
and any ball leaving the field of play is said to be ‘in touch’.
Other Differences There are several differences which make this
game played differently to other versions of Rugby. We’ve discussed some of them already,
but here’s a list of other noticeable differences: If you’re still not sure, I highly recommend
watching my videos on the other two forms of Rugby.
But if you have found this video at all helpful, please like, share and subscribe.
It takes me ages to make one of these things and good karma is very much appreciated.
Be sure to follow me on Twitter also – but in the meantime – Enjoy Rugby 7’s Ninh Ly – – @NinhLyUK

The Rules of Rugby Sevens (Rugby 7’s) – EXPLAINED!
Tagged on:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *